Old Friends

IMG_3481

You bring me flowers and chocolates
and stand in my conservatory
admiring the view of the stream.
I remember how years and years ago
we went to visit a young man who was dying,
when it was too late for anything
apart from being shaken
by his father’s fragile hand.
How we sat in the pub afterwards
and you said sometimes it just makes no sense.
Your sadness was so kind
and so filled with basic human decency,
I thought we must remember what’s important,
we must remember this moment and hold on to it
no matter how many miles or children
or break ups cloud our vision.
I look at you now and I see so clearly
your gift for laughter, how you’ve come
just when I needed you, as if time
were only water floating past in the distance.

Leave a Reply

