Side Effects

IMG_3482

There is the heat of insomnia,
a certain weariness in the bones,
the uncertainty of what my body
will do to me next. But there is also
stopping to notice a perfect
heart shaped petal floating in a puddle.
I stare into its deep red till you pull my hand
to show me a woodlouse kicking his legs in the air,
a green star stuck to your finger,
a bubble caught in the grass.
We take naps together in the afternoon,
drink hot milk which I used to find disgusting,
snuggle on the sofa to share our faith
in bad guy pirates swallowed whole
by tick tock crocodiles. An awfully big adventure.
As if I were somehow so much older
and so much younger at the same time.

One thought on “Side Effects

  1. Hi Aoife – what a lovely piece.

    Things floating in puddles and those little rivulets that run down the side of the road are special places of wonder for me, thanks for the reminder.

    Dom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

