Support

IMG_1286

To be back in those echoing corridors,
the photographs that move, the random piano
and the closed coffee shops. I’d forgotten
the hush of evening after the visitors have left.
I can almost see my ghost waiting in a leather chair.

I consider running and never stopping.
I listen to her tell how I’ll wake in a small room
surrounded by scary machines, all tubes and drains.
The importance of sitting up, the disinfectant gel,
the bear hug blanket and the need for a fan.
Someone asks a question about death,
the crowd holds its breath. I’m not sure I can do this.

Then there’s the topless women in crowded rooms,
laughing and happy to answer questions.
She says she has three small children,
she says I can touch them if I want.
Strange how quickly the surreal becomes normal.
I open my mind to the possibility of implants.
There is the kindness of a lift home.

I am no longer alone in the hospital,
I am one of many who survive this.

One thought on “Support

Leave a Reply

